Skip navigation


Today is a big day for a Nikon fanboy like myself. For as long as I could remember, I swore by Nikon lenses due to their high quality, durability and dependability. Today, after much research and testing, I decided to add a lens not manufactured by Nikon to my camera bag. For those of you that don’t know, many companies, such as Sigma, Tokina and Tamron, make third party lenses compatible with all major camera manufacturers.

Don’t get me wrong, Nikon still makes GREAT lenses, but why did I get a Sigma lens? Well, the new lens I got is the Sigma HSM 50mm f/1.4 EX DG. This will replace my Nikon AF-D 50mm f/1.4 lens.

You may wonder, what difference can two 50mm f/1.4 lenses have?! Well, first of all, I love using the 50mm primes because this is a great compact lens that is fast and can yield extremely shallow depth of field to blur out distracting backgrounds. My Nikon 50mm AF-D was a nice lens and got the job done, but its older autofocus technology made autofocus a bit unreliable and sometimes inaccurate. When it does get focus right on, the 50mm AF-D makes amazing images.

Recently, technology has improved and lenses such as the 50mm AF-D, which use a screw driven mechanical focusing system, have been phased out to be replaced with in lens focus motors. What this means is that the newer lenses use a computer chip in the lens to electronically focus the lens, which makes focusing a bit faster, more reliable and near silent. Both Nikon and Sigma have this technology. Nikon calls it AF-S, or Silent Wave Motor, while Sigma calls it HSM, Hyper Sonic Motor.

If Nikon already has AF-S, why did I choose Sigma? Well, I have tried the Nikon AF-S 50mm f/1.4 lens and it actually seems slower to autofocus than my current AF-D version. To be fair, my Nikon D3 is a mighty fast camera so screw driven lenses perform especially well on the body. The new 50mm f/1.4 actually requires a longer “rotation” to focus, compared to the older AF-D version I own. What this means is that when you turn the focus ring on the newer AF-S version, it takes longer to focus from the closest distance to infinity than the older AF-D version. Why did they do that? This is because this method allows for more precise manual focusing. The Sigma on the other hand, has a very short rotation and, from my experience, it focuses faster than the AF-S version. Still, the autofocus speed of these small prime lenses are no match for my professional zoom lenses, such as my 24-70mm f/2.8 lens.

The Sigma also has a whopping ten year Canadian warranty for their professional series lenses! They have a 48 hour turnaround time for servicing and loaner lenses, very similar to the Nikon Professional Services program available only to professionals approved by Nikon. The Sigma lens balances well on my D3 and looks professional.

As you can see, the Sigma is MUCH bigger than the older AF-D Nikkor. The AF-S version is a bit closer in size to the Sigma, but still not as beastly. The front filter thread is 77mm, which is surprisingly large for a lens of this focal length. The older AF-D lens I own is only 52mm and the newer AF-S is already considered big, measuring 58mm. The good thing about 77mm filter threads is that most of the professional zoom lenses are 77mm as well, allowing photographers to use filters they may already own. Just look at the size of that front element!

I did some quick tests around the house this afternoon and the Sigma and Nikon AF-D were about the same in terms of sharpness. The Sigma did very little hunting and locked onto focus quickly and quietly. The lens also comes with a semi hard case, which the Nikon AF-D did not. I am not sure if the AF-S version comes with a case or not. Both the Nikon AF-S and the Sigma lens come with a hood, a little extra that my old AF-D did not come with. Although I never use these lens cases, they are a nice addition and makes you feel like you got your money’s worth.

I will be shooting a wedding in Ajax tomorrow and I can’t wait to take this lens out for a real test in the field. Hope you all have a good weekend.

PS: My Nikon AF-D 50mm f/1.4 is for sale. Yes, it’s slower than my Sigma and not as accurate to autofocus.. but it’s also half the price. Email me at kelvin@kelvinyoungphoto.com if you are interested. Local sale, cash only in the Greater Toronto Area.

Leave a comment